Work Permit Guidelines & Requirements
COVID-19 Work Permit Updates -
The emergency rule provides:
The operations of permit offices and employers using minors under age 16 may continue to operate in the same manner as they did under the previous emergency order.
- The new end date for this process is September 1, 2020.
- Employers shall file a permit application on behalf of each minor employee and pay the associated fee no later than October 1, 2020.
- The application of this emergency rule is retroactive to May 11, 2020. The Department will decline to take any enforcement action against employers of minors who follow the process set forth in the emergency rule.
Work Permit Requirements
- A work permit is required before anyone under the age of 16 is allowed to work in any job with the exception of agriculture or domestic service work.
- Employers must have a work permit on file for the minor being employed before they may allow the minor to begin work.
Where can I get a Work Permit?
- Work permits are issued at various locations throughout the state. You may apply for a work permit at your school office or call (608) 266-6860 for information on where in your area you may apply for a work permit.
NOTE: The permit will not be issued if the work is prohibited by law.
Work Permit Offices
How to Obtain a Work Permit - To obtain a work permit, either the minor alone or the minor and a parent must visit the permit officer, taking with them:
- the minor's birth certificate or other proof of age,
- the minor's social security card
- letter from the employer expressing intent to hire, on employer's regular letterhead, describing:
- job duties,
- hours of work,
- a written parents consent
- a $10.00 permit fee
Proof of Minor's Age
- We may accept a valid operator's license or an identification card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation as proof of a minor's age. This means that we may now accept either a duly attested birth certificate, a verified baptismal certificate, or a driver’s license or photo ID card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.
For the Employer - Permit Fee Requirement
- The employer must reimburse the $10.00 permit fee to the minor by no later than the date of the first paycheck.
- Copies of the permit go to the employer and the minor, in addition to the school district where the minor is enrolled.
- Work Permit App Instructions
- Guide to Wisconsin's Employment of Minors Laws - For All Youth under 18 years of Age
- Manufacturing & Construction Equipment & Wisconsin's Employment of Minors Laws